Quartet with Norm – PA115

Today we’re joined by long time listener and friend to the show Norm as we cover the classic soundtrack of Quartet.

Originally developed and published by Sega in 1986, Quartet is a futuristic 4-player arcade platformer with elements borrowed from Gauntlet. Quartet only saw one major wave of releases in arcades and home consoles plus a Sega Ages rerelease, but it maintains a dedicated fanbase and the music composed by Katsuhiro Hayashi plays a big role.

Katsuhiro Hayashi, a.k.a. “Funky K.H” is a composer and former S.S.T. Band keyboardist with some impressive credits. In addition to Quartet, he worked on Super Hang-On, SDI, and Galaxy Force I/II in arcades, and many other console games over the years. Since 2005 he left the conventional games business to work mostly on pachinko games but his music has left a lasting impact.

Join us as we listen to the Arcade and Sega Master System versions of Quartet along with a few brief departures.

Track List:

All music composed by Katsuhiro Hayashi unless otherwise stated

Quartet – Arcade
Quartet – SMS

  • 0:00:04 Miami Samba Machine (ARC)
  • 0:00:16 Quartet Theme (ARC)
  • 0:08:10 Quartet Theme / Stage 1 (SMS)
  • 0:16:25 FM Funk (ARC)
  • 0:19:56 FM Funk / Stage 4 (SMS)
  • 0:23:38 FM Funk / Stage 2 (ARC) – from Spider-Man: The Video Game
  • 0:30:12 Sky (ARC)
  • 0:33:22 Sky / Stage 2 (SMS)
  • 0:47:27 OKI_RAP (ARC)
  • 0:49:43 OKI_RAP / Stage 3 (SMS)
  • 0:52:10 OKI_RAP / Stage 3 – from Spider-Man: The Video Game
  • 0:54:44 Rap Test (ARC) – from sound test
  • 0:57:25 Stage 5 (SMS)
  • 1:01:21 Stage 5 – FM arrangement by “For Me”
  • 1:07:22 Stage 6 (SMS)
  • 1:11:24 Subtune 6 (C64) – composed by David Whittaker
  • 1:14:17 Final Boss (SMS)
  • 1:15:46 Ending Theme (SMS)
  • 1:23:38 Quartet Medley 2005 (PS2) – from Sega Ages Vol. 21: SDI & Quartet
    • Arranged by: Mitsuharu Fukuyama
    • Performed by (H.) the spiritual successor to the S.S.T. Band
      • Keyboard & Trumpet: Mitsuharu Fukuyama
      • Keyboard: Hiroshi Kawaguchi
      • Bass: Takenobu Mitsuyoshi
      • Guitar: Keitaro Hanada


Check out Norm on his Twitter (Normally Retro), his YouTube channel featuring video game voice samples, and his excellent theme song for the Top 47k Games podcast from HG101

For more on character designer Rieko Kodama read interviews with her on her work on Phantasy Star IV, Skies of Arcadia or go to her Sega Retro page for a list of game credits.

Listen to Quartet FM arrangements of SMS exclusive songs by YouTube and NicoNico user “For Me”

Albums mentioned on the show
SDI & Quartet (2005 by Sega) (JP) – originals and arrangements
Sega Game Music Vol. 2 (JP) – Quartet main theme only
Sega System 16 Complete Soundtrack Vol. 1 (JP) – a 3 disc set from 2010
Sega Arcade Selection D-RAM Remix – Sega Remix album (info only)

SMSPower – Quartet (SMS)
VGMRips – Quartet (Arcade)

One thought on “Quartet with Norm – PA115

  1. UtopiaNemo

    It’s great that you got Lee to guest at the cocktail cabinet!


Something to say about the episode?