Gyruss – PA116

By | June 21, 2019

Inspired by our talk at the Library of Congress, we have a shorter show covering the music of Gyruss over about 25 years of releases.

Gyruss was originally developed by Konami in 1983 with ports developed and published by many companies over its history. We even find the game showing up in a few unexpected places.

The original theme is based on J.S. Bach’s Toccata and Fugue in D Minor which is a fairly well known organ piece in the classical repertoire. You’ll hear a few different takes on the Bach piece as well as a few new compositions. We hope you enjoy the show!

Track List:

  • 00:00 Start + Main BGM 1 (ARC)
  • 06:58 Main BGM 2 (ARC)
  • 10:11 Main BGM 3 (C64)
  • 14:58 Stage 1 (FDS)
  • 21:11 Stage 2 (NES)
  • 25:46 Bonus Stage (FDS/NES)
  • 29:01 Jungle Theme 1 (PS1) – from Contra: Legacy of War
  • 34:33 Main BGM (XBLA)
  • 41:04 Ending (FDS)

Gyruss – (Arcade, 1983) Arranged by Masahiro Inoue
Gyruss – (C64, 1984) Arranged by Unknown
Gyruss – (FDS/NES, 1988/1989) Composed and arranged by Atsushi Fujio, Yuichi Sakakura, Harumi Ueko
Contra: Legacy of War – (PS1/SAT, 1996/1997) Composed by Attila Héger
Gyruss – (XBLA, 2007) Arranged by Jeroen Tel

We also want to thank Hardcore Gaming 101 for their excellent article on Gyruss which was the source of some of the episode information.

Something to say about the episode?