The Adventures of Little Ralph – PA99

By | June 4, 2018

pixelated audio episode 99 the adventures of little ralph chippoke rarufu no daibouken psx playstation vgm game audio

The Adventures of Little Ralph, developed by NEW Corporation is a 2D platformer released only in Japan for the Sony Playstation on June of 1999. Like Ralph, there’s a big game in this unassuming package. With its tight controls, engaging scoring mechanics, and a polished 1v1 fighting mini-game engine, this is one you’re bound to keep coming back to. Composed by Hiroshi Kuronuma, Naoki Tsuchiya and Hideki Satou, The Adventures of Little Ralph features two complete versions of the soundtrack accessible right from the menu: the standard instrumental version and a “PSG” arrange version, both using the Playstation sound source.

Naoki Tsuchiya has the most game credits of the trio and composed for Victorious Boxers: Ippo’s Road to Glory for the PS2 and Hajime no Ippo Portable: Victorious Spirits for PSP. He also did some sound design and is the voice of Little Ralph.

**UPDATE** A post-episode Q&A with Naoki Tsuchiya is now available here! [Q&A with Naoki Tsuchiya]

Hideki “Quintana” Satou is best known as a percussionist on the arrange albums for Clockwork Knight 1 and 2, as well as his work with Jun Takagi’s Orquesta Del Sol ensemble throughout the 90s.

Hiroshi Kuronuma worked briefly for NEW Corporation and also composed the music for Boxer’s Road for the PS1.

Listen in as we explore a selection of tracks from both versions of the massive soundtrack to Little Ralph’s homage to the 8 and 16-bit eras.

The Adventures of Little Ralph
1999, New Corporation

Composed by Hiroshi KuronumaNaoki TsuchiyaHideki Satou (黒沼弘, 土屋直樹, 佐藤英樹)



The Adventures of Little Ralph Original Soundtracks
ちっぽけラルフの大冒険 オリジナル・サウンドトラックス

Purchase the soundtrack (all 120 tracks) for ¥2100 at EGG MUSIC!



Episode Track List:

  • 0:00:10 Stage 1-1 – Departure
  • 0:12:34 Casua Watersupply
  • 0:16:53 Holy Battle
  • 0:29:26 High and Alone
  • 0:37:43 Stage 3-1 – Into the Darkness (PSG version)
  • 0:40:45 Stage 4-2 – Ruins of Donan
  • 0:57:03 VS Mode Select – Let’s Begin the Battle (PSG version)
  • 1:04:36 Stage 5-2 – In the Citadel of Ice 
  • 1:09:22 Stage 5 Boss Easy – Valgo
  • 1:13:25 Stage 5 Boss Normal – Valgo the Artistic Murderer
  • 1:22:15 Stage 6 – Great Battleship ~Queen Desta~
  • 1:29:53 Stage 7 Boss – Ferica the Sad Goddess (PSG Version)
  • 1:40:11 Stage 8 Boss Change – Destarroza
  • 1:43:59 ETC2: Mt. Etona
  • 1:53:22 Easy Ending – End of Nightmare
  • 2:05:24 Normal Ending 2 – Little Hero’s Story (PSG Version)

Something to say about the episode?